Feral Game Hunting Kit

Stories, questions, lies about the one that got away....

Moderator: Moderators

atlas_melbourne

Feral Game Hunting Kit

#1 Post by atlas_melbourne » Thu Aug 20, 2020 5:32 am

Hi all,
I'm new to the forum and this is my first post, and i'll begin by stating that I have NEVER shot a bow before.

Forgive me if the following, or indeed this entire post, is filled with naiveties and misunderstandings - read "total noob".
Your feedback about whether I am on the right track here would be very much appreciated. Pull no punches. If it's stupid. Tell me it's stupid. I don't want to waste my money.

I'm interested in bushcraft/camping/motorcycles :auto-dirtbike: and hunting and have recently discovered that in certain times and places one can hunt pest game in Victorian State Forests with a bow - no hunting permits or licenses required. AWESOME. help the environment, learn a valuable skill and get a good dose of the nature. I'm in.

I'm very interested in hunting rabbits, foxes, wild dogs and feral pigs, either for eating (depending on the location/diseases) or for the bounty offered by the GMA (free bow for crack shots!)
I'm also interested in bow-fishing and maybe later larger game like Deer or Roos... but i think i'll just start by learning to shoot :Bow

I've used my COVID time to productively rifle through a billion different websites/articles and posts and I've come up with a kit.
I'm not convinced I want a cheap beginners kit or one of the more gimmicky looking bushcraft/survival bows. I want something effective, lightweight, durable and generally forgiving on the hunt, but obviously I don't need the best of the best.

My shopping list for a decent hunting kit is the following. I've tried to go with something simple, even though compound bows just look so damn cool.

- Bear Archery Super Kodiak 50Lb + Case
- T.R.U Ball Speed Loop G Series
- T.R.U Ball T.R.U Nock
- T.R.U Ball Max Hunter 3 Caliper Head Release