Recurve On The River.

Stories, questions, lies about the one that got away....

Moderator: Moderators

Macca

Recurve On The River.

#1 Post by Macca » Sat Jan 21, 2012 11:24 pm

It all started back in October 2011; I purchased my first 50lb single piece recurve. I started shooting it and loved it so I thought I would look at getting a takedown. The next thing I did was I got hold of a copy of Darren’s DVD, “Another Boaring Week” and I was hooked. I was due to head up to the Gulf the following month in December for a hunting trip.

The plan was to do my trip with the compound, return and concentrate on the recurve. I was not new to bowhunting as I had been hunting with the bow since 1991. The Gulf trip was completed with a few good pigs taken, the compound was then put into the cupboard and my journey started. I started to practice every day after work religiously.
Practice.JPG
Practice.JPG (195.9 KiB) Viewed 5765 times
My first goal was to do a kayak trip with the recurve and take a few goats. I set a date and I was on route to my goat property where I had been going for the last 10 or so years. There would be three of us going this trip for a quick 3 dayer. We arrived at our destination after calling into the local and picking up a couple of slabs of coldies.
Decent.1.jpg
Decent.1.jpg (119.85 KiB) Viewed 5765 times
River.jpg
River.jpg (146.3 KiB) Viewed 5765 times
After unpacking the Ute I quickly assembled the Bear takedown and flung a few arrows. I was keen to hit the river and get onto a few goats. After a short paddle I parked the kayak up and ventured to a high point to glass, after glassing the surrounding area I failed to sight any critters. The afternoon began to fade so I headed back to camp, upon arrival back at camp I decided to grab a few beers and sit down at the water and throw a line in. The three of us managed to catch a few carp before the sun set.
Carp.JPG
Carp.JPG (143.9 KiB) Viewed 5765 times