The Draw & Hold?

Questions and answers. How to tune your bow, match those arrows and how to shoot your bow or hit the target. Its all here!

Moderator: Moderators

wayne

The Draw & Hold?

#1 Post by wayne » Mon Apr 26, 2010 2:56 am

Just starting out with a PSE Mustang takedown recurve, 55lbs. I've been shooting 70lbs PSE, Brute and Stinger for a few months and thought I'd give the recurve ago. I'm using carbon arrows for both bows, field points only at this stage.

I note some videos people pull and shoot instinctively, while others pull back and hold like with a compound. When I try the latter it is harder than pulling back the Brute/Stinger. I don't have sights on the Mustang, It was knocked when I bought it.

At 10m it shoots high when I attempt to aim and the arrows do not hit the target correctly, they can be tail up or to the left. Given its me, any suggestions on technique are more than welcome.
Regards, Wayne

Antonio

Re: The Draw & Hold?

#2 Post by Antonio » Mon Apr 26, 2010 5:40 am

Hi wayne those Bows you mentioned are Compound Bows .of course you know that . you say left and high ,just of hand 55lbs is 15lbs weaker than the 70lbs you have been shooting .so there might be a possibility that the arrows are over spine for the 55lbs recurve.when they are over spine they can shoot to the left .assuming you are drawing with you're right hand and holding the bow with you're left hand

if the nocking point is to low they can shoot high .this is only a rough estimate as I don't know if you're recurve is close to center shot .

The difference in the way the bow feels(harder pulling it back ) is because the recurve you have the full weight of the draw .no let down like a Compound Bow.