damn bow stringer!??!?!?!?!

Questions and answers. How to tune your bow, match those arrows and how to shoot your bow or hit the target. Its all here!

Moderator: Moderators

muntries

damn bow stringer!??!?!?!?!

#1 Post by muntries » Wed Dec 02, 2009 8:01 pm

Hi Folks,

Ok I'm new to the scene and in the process of getting my gear together. I bought a bow stringer the other day, I wanted one with sleaves on both sides but they didn't have the one I wanted so I got one with a sleave on one side and a rubber saddle on the other (much more expensive too!!). Problem is that when I try using the thing the saddle slips right down the limb and is all but useless! Is there a knack to it or will I need to enroll with a university to be able to use the damn thing :evil: ?

Simon
"With staff in hand, the hunter stood on Radholme's dewy lawn" The Hunters Song (Olde Lancashire Poem) by Richard Parkinson.

kimall

Re: damn bow stringer!??!?!?!?!

#2 Post by kimall » Wed Dec 02, 2009 8:05 pm

Mate is the rubber bit a block type thing?

muntries

#3 Post by muntries » Wed Dec 02, 2009 8:06 pm

Yes, I'm about to butcher the thing and stick some leather sleaves on the ends of the very expensive piece of string.
"With staff in hand, the hunter stood on Radholme's dewy lawn" The Hunters Song (Olde Lancashire Poem) by Richard Parkinson.

kimall

#4 Post by kimall » Wed Dec 02, 2009 8:10 pm

What sort of bow mate if you posted that sorry I missed it but if it is a recurve I found that type to be the best I have tried and my new Robertson came with one.

muntries

#5 Post by muntries » Wed Dec 02, 2009 8:12 pm

yea its a chekmate recurve, the saddle just slips down the limb not sure what I'm doing wrong. trying it now again but don't wanna stuff the bow

kimall

#6 Post by kimall » Wed Dec 02, 2009 8:17 pm

If you want to give me a call I will have it sorted in a bout 2 mins PM on its way.
Cheers KIM

longbow steve

#7 Post by longbow steve » Wed Dec 02, 2009 8:18 pm