Breaking in a self bow

Questions and answers. How to tune your bow, match those arrows and how to shoot your bow or hit the target. Its all here!

Moderator: Moderators

Fraser

Breaking in a self bow

#1 Post by Fraser » Mon Jan 28, 2013 5:03 pm

Hi All, I'm being given a ELB self bow made of Osage orange for my birthday. I've never used a self bow before, is there away that a self bow needs to be broken in/treated before shooting it for the first time?

Cheers,

Fraser.

longbow steve

Re: Breaking in a self bow

#2 Post by longbow steve » Mon Jan 28, 2013 6:07 pm

Hi Fraser, it should be all bet done as a part of the building process but factors such as your draw length and whether or not you put pressure on your bow hand (heeling the bow etc) can have an effect on tiller. If the bow is not being made for you specifically they tend to be over built to take the abuse that they will likely get from such factors and or other people shooting the bow.
I look forward to seeing what you get. Cheers Steve

Fraser

#3 Post by Fraser » Mon Jan 28, 2013 6:29 pm

Thanks Steve, it's being made to suit my longer draw length (32"). The reason I asked is I'd read some recommendations after doing a google search and wondered if they where normal. Called for stringing the bow, rubbing it down with warm wax, letting it sit strung for 1/2 hour, shooting 12 arrows 1/2 draw, 12 arrows 3/4 draw, and finally 12 arrows at full draw. I can't see how waxing the the bow would help if it has been properly sealed.

Cheers,

Fraser

Buranurra

#4 Post by Buranurra » Mon Jan 28, 2013 6:58 pm

Can't wait to see the bow!

I can't see how any of the "breaking-in" info you found can do any harm. I dunno about the warm wax though but anything that adds a bit a insurance or confidence in looking after the bow sounds worthwhile to me.

Now, get pics pronto :lol:

Cheers

Jase
Predator: Custom, 60", 42# and 57# @28
Toelke: Whip Custom 62", 57# @28
Jack B Harrison : El Lobo 62", 58# @28

longbow steve