What makes a good trad shoot photo?

Photos by Members of Ozbow.

Moderator: Moderators

Mick Smith

#1 Post by Mick Smith » Fri Sep 05, 2014 5:30 pm

I'm not qualified to answer that question, as I'm only a very ordinary photographer. I do try, but my results are inconsistent.

Perhaps we could do with some tips from our better photographers, if they're willing to chime in. Just some hard and fast rules perhaps, that will make our photos more interesting and professional looking.

I have a few ideas, but I'm afraid they will be shot down in smoke, so I'll keep them to myself for the time being. :wink:

I could certainly use some guidance.
There is no use focusing on aiming if you don't execute the shot well enough to hit what your are aiming at.

Stickbow Hunter
Supporter
Supporter

Re: What makes a good trad shoot photo?

#2 Post by Stickbow Hunter » Fri Sep 05, 2014 5:42 pm

That is a hard one to answer Mick. What looks great to one person will look ordinary to another. However you wanted some tips on making better photos so I will start off with this one.

Always ensure your subject is in focus.

Jeff

Mick Smith

#3 Post by Mick Smith » Fri Sep 05, 2014 5:55 pm

That's a good start Jeff.

I've often noticed that the subject of interest in a photograph is often too small in relation to the rest of it. This is often true of photographs of equipment. You get to see too much of the scenery surrounding the subject of interest, but not enough detail what's important. I would suggest, you either get up a lot closer to your subject for the shot, or use the cropping feature in photo shop to eliminate much of the background, thereby highlighting the intended focus of interest of the shot.
There is no use focusing on aiming if you don't execute the shot well enough to hit what your are aiming at.

little arrows

#4 Post by little arrows » Fri Sep 05, 2014 7:27 pm