Tuggeranong Archery Club - Canberra

This is the place to post the web address or contact details for such. This will not only assist those searching for information about your Bowhunting/Archery Association, Organization or Club but it would be very helpful for those travelling around our great country and who are looking for local clubs or events to attend.

Moderator: Moderators

buzz

Tuggeranong Archery Club - Canberra

#1 Post by buzz » Sun Jul 30, 2006 12:23 pm

http://www.archeryact.asn.au/tac/

Tuggeranong Archery Club is located in the far south of Canberra. The grounds are at the very end of Erindale Drive just past the Hockey fields and enclosed stadium. It is affiliated with Archery Australia and Archery ACT and members from other clubs are welcome.

Beginners and general practice is available from 9.00am Sunday mornings and open practice is usually held on Thursday evenings in Daylight saving.

Complete beginners are welcome and all equipment is available, indeed, they will try and discourage complete newbies from buying equipment until the new person gets a better idea of what they are in for and what best suits their needs. There are a range of bows to suit kids of around 7 years right up to full sized adults. Coaching and assistance is provided. For new starters they prefer you get there before 9.30am so they can do eye dominance tests and get you kitted out with tabs, arm guards and a bow and still have plenty of time to shoot. They close the beginners line at 11am.

All form of archers are welcome and the range can accomodate a full 90m distance and clout shoots are also sometimes held. There are plans afoot to introduce a field course around the site as well.

Of possible interest to some people is the fact that the club hosts shoots for the ACT branch of the SCA (medievalists). They generally meet there at 10am on Sundays and will usually hold their costumed events on the first Sunday of each month.