Bamboo backed Osage

How to make a Bow, a String or a Set of Arrows. Making equipment & tools for use in Traditional Archery and Bowhunting.

Moderator: Moderators

warild_make

Bamboo backed Osage

#1 Post by warild_make » Mon Apr 05, 2021 4:53 pm

bambooOsage.jpg
bambooOsage.jpg (109.21 KiB) Viewed 3479 times
spent a couple hours today tillering my first Bow.

66" Bamboo Backed Osage
40# (approx) @28
Although I built in some reflex it did take on some string follow

Need to finish up the aesthetics, handle was only roughed in, going for a Howard Hill style grip. Not sure if I'll add tip overlays.

Also waiting on my spool of string material so I can make up a Flemish twist and finally shoot the thing!

Bill
Supporter
Supporter

Re: Bamboo backed Osage

#2 Post by Bill » Tue Apr 06, 2021 8:43 am

Hello warild make I'm no expert but that is a very interesting looking bow
Nice bend.
The details about it sound great.
Hope it brings you alot of enjoyment.
Cheers.

Stickbow Hunter
Supporter
Supporter

#3 Post by Stickbow Hunter » Tue Apr 06, 2021 9:36 am

That is looking good; I hope you get many hours of enjoyment shooting it. You'll have to show us some detail photos when you finish it.

Jeff

greybeard
Supporter
Supporter

#4 Post by greybeard » Wed Apr 07, 2021 9:12 am

The tiller is nice and symmetrical, well done.
bambooOsage.jpg
bambooOsage.jpg (71.11 KiB) Viewed 3438 times
You will notice in the photo that the limb tip to string angle is almost 90 ̊. If the bow is drawn past this point the bow will start to go into stack.

Longer fadeouts may help de stress this area of the limbs. From watching YouTube bow making videos it would appear that the Americans like short fadeout areas.

Daryl.
"And you must not stick for a groat or twelvepence more than another man would give, if it be a good bow.
For a good bow twice paid for, is better than an ill bow once broken.
[Ascham]