First Bow: Spotted Gum

How to make a Bow, a String or a Set of Arrows. Making equipment & tools for use in Traditional Archery and Bowhunting.

Moderator: Moderators

Dervish

First Bow: Spotted Gum

#1 Post by Dervish » Mon Mar 12, 2018 11:44 am

Hello From the South Coast,

My son's turning six and I am attempting to make him his first bow. I am not a complete novice—as a child I made bows with my granddad back in Germany, mostly from hazel saplings—but given the professionalism that most people on this site exhibit, I am as good as new to bowyery. I am following steps in The Traditional Bowyer's Bible. Have cut down a fairly straight spotted gum, sealed it with fire, dried it and split it. Two questions for now:

I.) In spotted gum is the sapwood or heartwood the preferred bow-making material?

II.) What kind of bow designs lend themselves to spotted gum as well as to a six-year-old's strength?

Any other feedback about making bows from spotted gum are welcome. Thank you for your help.

Best regards,

D.

greybeard
Supporter
Supporter

Re: First Bow: Spotted Gum

#2 Post by greybeard » Fri Mar 16, 2018 12:49 pm

Hi Dervish,

If your spotted gum billet is from a small diameter tree a higher than desirable crown may cause issues with limb thickness.

If so you may have to de-crown the stave to make it suitable for a shorter light draw weight bow.

Australian hardwoods are vastly different in mechanical properties to many of the northern hemisphere timbers.

The sapwood should be suitable if it is not damaged. If it is blemished sand/scrape the length of the stave to get a clean back.

The basic flatbow plan shown below is for a 68” n to n bow. The dimensions can be modified for a shorter n to n length.

Wider thinner limbs are probably more suitable than narrower thicker limbs for such a light draw weight bow.

In a child's bow the limb width may come down to around the one inch mark.
Basic Flatbow Plan.jpg
Basic Flatbow Plan.jpg (29.09 KiB) Viewed 3548 times