Black wattle question

How to make a Bow, a String or a Set of Arrows. Making equipment & tools for use in Traditional Archery and Bowhunting.

Moderator: Moderators

Scotty

Black wattle question

#1 Post by Scotty » Wed Aug 17, 2011 11:18 pm

Gidday Folks, First off Id like to introduces myself my names Scotty I'm a carpenter/carver by trade I'm new to Archery and Bowery. Ive got a question or two,that i'm hoping you can help me with. I've recent got ahold of some Black wattle. I am planning on building a pyramid shaped flat bow design of 68" ntn with about 6" of stiff handle and fade with a final draw weight of 55lb @ 29". I was reading in the TBB Vol 4 that Accacias are not great in tensile strength and they recomend decrowning the stave. Has anyone had any experience doing this and if so how is it best done eg, follow the external surface of the stave or simple flatten it? I only have hand tools available,Hatchet,Drawknife,spokeshave and files.
Also would anyone know of suitable bow wood trees in the northern w.a area as I will be based in Broome for the next 6 months or so.
Any help would be much appreciated cheers Scotty

Keith Lee

Re: Black wattle question

#2 Post by Keith Lee » Thu Aug 18, 2011 10:57 am

Welcome to Ausbow Scotty i'can't help with your questions i'am only new to making selfbows i've just made three out of wattle and thy all blow-up. :mrgreen:

Stickbow Hunter
Supporter
Supporter

#3 Post by Stickbow Hunter » Thu Aug 18, 2011 1:56 pm

Welcome to the site Scotty. I'm sure some of the more experienced self bow makers on here will see your post and do up a reply in due course.

Jeff

Gringa Bows

#4 Post by Gringa Bows » Thu Aug 18, 2011 2:43 pm

Hey hairy person its OZBOW :lol: ............Welcome to the site Scotty,ive only used Blackwattle as laminations in a couple of my composite bows,worked well ...

twisted limb

#5 Post by twisted limb » Sun Aug 21, 2011 9:24 am