lo peeps.

Where to source materials etc. Also the place to show off your new bow or quiver etc.... Making things belongs in Traditional Crafts.

Moderator: Moderators

TheSilentBugler

lo peeps.

#1 Post by TheSilentBugler » Mon Mar 15, 2004 10:58 am

long time lurker here.

Finally getting around to carvin me a stick(well, boardy for my first go).

Anyone used NZ beech...?

gundy

#2 Post by gundy » Mon Mar 15, 2004 11:29 am

Welcome lurker! :) Good to see you here.

This is a great topic! I have been looking at some Tassie wood for a 'boarder' myself.

Erron, Dennis, Glenn , Jeff, (hello!?), you guys are pretty much way up to speed with self bows.

erron

#3 Post by erron » Mon Mar 15, 2004 12:06 pm

Welcome to Ozbow, Bugler!

I'm no expert but I believe if the grain is good and there's no impossible-to-incorporate knot-holes etc, any timber will make some kind of bow. Really need Dennis or Glenn or one of the other more experienced bowyesr to chime in here...

:?

Erron

TheSilentBugler

#4 Post by TheSilentBugler » Mon Mar 15, 2004 12:15 pm

The board looks good, not a knot to be seen and a very tight grain.
Apparently it is similar to Tassie Mytle, but it is a much better board to any of the Mytles I could lay my hands on.

Thanks for the welcome guys :)

gilnockie

#5 Post by gilnockie » Mon Mar 15, 2004 8:10 pm

Silent Bugler

I tried making English longbows out of the local timbers ( I live in Tasmania) and in total ignorance I used boards from the local timber yards.

They all failed. I tried Myrtle, Celery Top Pine, Blackwood, Tas Oak. I tied laminating them together and backing them with glass laminates I made myself.

The only one which came close to working was Huon Pine backed with bamboo.

I suggest that you do the following if you want any hope of success:
Buy a copy of the Traditional Bowyer's Bible, all three volumes and read it several times. I think you live in Mornington. If so, the Technical Bookshop in Swanston Street normally stocks it.