change

Where to source materials etc. Also the place to show off your new bow or quiver etc.... Making things belongs in Traditional Crafts.

Moderator: Moderators

Gringa Bows

change

#1 Post by Gringa Bows » Wed Sep 26, 2007 11:05 pm

i have just started trying to teach myself to shoot mediteranian and i didnt realise how hard it was going to be i have always shot 3 fingers under but i am trying to improve my scores

Steven J

#2 Post by Steven J » Thu Sep 27, 2007 8:51 am

I agree, it is hard to switch between the two styles. I started shooting 3 under as our club shoots mainly indoors, and the three under dropped the elevation at the short ranges.

Why do you think that split fingers will improve your scores?

Steve

Gringa Bows

#3 Post by Gringa Bows » Thu Sep 27, 2007 8:59 pm

just trying different styles of shooting if i dont improve in a few weeks ill go back to three under and i will know split fingers is not for me

Dennis La Varenne

#4 Post by Dennis La Varenne » Fri Sep 28, 2007 5:33 pm

LB rod 55,

I am a Mediterranean shooter, but if I were you, I wouldn't have bothered. Neither loose is more conducive to accuracy than the other. On average the Mediterranean hits higher at the shorter ranges and the 3-under hits lower at the longer ranges.

If you are an instinctive shooter, this doesn't matter at all. If you gap or point of aim, it does become a minor issue, but the genius of the human mind allows most people to work out how to cope with the shortcomings of their preference.

Your problem is only the time you allow to relearn to shoot Mediterranean. As Steven J said, it is the changeover which is difficult. Once you are used to the new style you will shoot just as accurately as with the older style given enough practice time.