tanning kits?

Where to source materials etc. Also the place to show off your new bow or quiver etc.... Making things belongs in Traditional Crafts.

Moderator: Moderators

duane01

tanning kits?

#1 Post by duane01 » Fri Oct 27, 2006 12:41 pm

hey all, hello my name is Duane and i live in liverpool area of sydney. yes i am a newbie to this forum, but so far have found lots of useful stuff here. i am just getting back into bow hunting, got a hoyt lazertec 70lb with all the gizmo's. just got my R licence the other day and now am ready to bag me some ferals. i am using teken heads on new carbon arrows aswel as some older style broad heads on ally shafts. any how enough of that , what do you guys reccomend for keeping the skins. i know salt works, and yes, you can buy tanning kits, but do you guys use anything else. simply for ease and being lite enuf to carry.
i carry all my kit in my old army webbing and ammo pouchs.ie first aid, noco's, epirb, maps, etc etc. so i dont want to carry any more than i have to.
some of the things you all carry has made my kit even smaller than it used to be and now i feel very comfy knowing that i have almost everything covered.
cheers D..
i shot an arrow in the air
i wonder whos' got it now??????????

perry

#2 Post by perry » Sat Oct 28, 2006 5:53 am

Duane if I understand your post you are looking at tanning a hide in the field . If you within sevaral hours walk of camp or your vehicle you will have no drama's with the hide spoiling or with hair slippage . If you apply liberal quanity's of a fine grained salt which soaks up the fluids from the hide and change the salt a couple of times in the first 2 weeks the hide will keep for a very long time. Theres always the freezer too
Tanning a hide for leather is not practical in the field , properly preparing the hide , several days in the tanning solution and then breaking and oiling the hide can take up to a week .