Bow Making Wood

Where to source materials etc. Also the place to show off your new bow or quiver etc.... Making things belongs in Traditional Crafts.

Moderator: Moderators

DankyKay

Bow Making Wood

#1 Post by DankyKay » Wed Feb 03, 2016 4:22 pm

Im new to bow making, and was wondering if there is any good bow wood near my location (central coast, NSW) as im eager to get started on a bow with atleast some decent wood for bow making

I appreciate your feedback,
Daniel.

hunterguy1991

Re: Bow Making Wood

#2 Post by hunterguy1991 » Wed Feb 03, 2016 5:12 pm

Hi Daniel, Welcome to the Forum!

Do a search and you will find countless threads on timber for beginners mate! Heaps of different options for different styles of bows.

Colin

Gringa Bows

#3 Post by Gringa Bows » Wed Feb 03, 2016 7:49 pm

Welcome to Ozbow

cmoore

#4 Post by cmoore » Wed Feb 03, 2016 11:22 pm

Hi Daniel welcome to Ozbow

My advice would be to get yourself to Masters and buy up a decent amount of red oak boards (if they still stock it that is!). If they have none in stock I would suggest buying a board of spotted gum and a piece of pole bamboo (about 6 inches in diameter) to use as a backing on the spotted gum, there's plenty of threads on bamboo backed bows and they are an excellent place to start
Set Happens

DankyKay

#5 Post by DankyKay » Thu Feb 04, 2016 12:18 am

Thanks for the reply.
By saying a decent amount of boards are you suggesting that I glue them together or just have other boards as back ups?

cmoore

#6 Post by cmoore » Thu Feb 04, 2016 7:26 am

You'll want a few boards on hand as back ups, another thing when selecting your boards is to choose the ones that have the straightest grain throughout their length, the picture of the board on the right is the ideal grain you're looking for in a red oak board
images(7).jpeg
images(7).jpeg (13.86 KiB) Viewed 4560 times
Set Happens

DankyKay

#7 Post by DankyKay » Thu Feb 04, 2016 8:13 am