hello from Canada

General Hunting News & Alerts. The place for posting and reading about what's happening in the world of hunting, for finding out what our Friends & Foes are up to, and how we are responding.

Moderator: Moderators

calgarychef

hello from Canada

#1 Post by calgarychef » Fri Dec 19, 2008 9:13 am

Hello all, I'm a traditiona bowhunter from Canada. I'm a member of the Alberta Tratitional Bowhunters Association I've been trying to see how other organizations run their websites so that we might copy some successful ones. It looks like you guys have a nice site!

A bit about myself. I've been using trad equipment for 5 years and a rifle before that, sorry I've never had training wheels on my bow! I find myself using a gun less and less to hunt, as you know it's quite a rush to hunt with stick and string.

In Alberta we hunt:

Deer- whitetails, and mule deer or mulies as we call them
Bear- Black bear, Grizzly hunting has been closed for a few years
Moose
Elk

I've shot 6 deer with my bow and had a nice miss on a moose at 15 yards-my most famous miss, because my buddy saw it and wondered how i could miss a moose. I wonder that too.

I'll try and post a couple photos so you can see how we do it in Canada, and hopefully I can learn a bit about what you guys hunt while I'm poking around here.

The chef

longbow steve

Re: hello from Canada

#2 Post by longbow steve » Fri Dec 19, 2008 10:12 am

Welcome Calgarychef, I look forward to seeing some scenery and hearing about your hunting exploits.
What? you missed a moose? :D

Are you a Chef? can you give us some nice game recipes aswell?
Steve

Gringa Bows

#3 Post by Gringa Bows » Fri Dec 19, 2008 11:36 am

welcome to the site chef,bring on the hunting photo's mate :wink: ...........Rod

Nephew

#4 Post by Nephew » Fri Dec 19, 2008 1:35 pm

Nice to make your acquaintance. I look forward to seeing some pics of the magnificent wilderness you blokes are privileged with, and the game you hunt!