WANT TO BUY A 400 SPINE POWERFLIGHT OR AFTERMATH BARE SHAFT IN BRISBANE

General discussions. Politics, scuttlebutt, whatever: you're getting married, changing jobs, got a gripe or a compliment, dying to get out with the bow etc.....

Moderator: Moderators

aero170

WANT TO BUY A 400 SPINE POWERFLIGHT OR AFTERMATH BARE SHAFT IN BRISBANE

#1 Post by aero170 » Sat Apr 11, 2020 5:57 pm

Hi Im new to recurves and am playing about this weekend trying to get my arrows to shoot well. I have a 52 lb bow when I am drawing to 30 inches.
Im having some issues with fishtailing and I would like to try a 400 spine shaft , alas you seem to be only be able to buy them either by the dozen or at least six and if the experiment fails thats a waste of money particularly at this time. Powerflights OR aftermaths are ok as I have the nocks and inserts. Must be uncut as I am struggling with my long drawlength getting a finished arrow that stays on the rest. If you have a batch of unused shafts in 400 spine and am willing to sell one to a trad pumkinhead trying to figure it all out let me know. my number is 0423364277 if you have one I could buy flick me a text cheers David

little arrows

Re: WANT TO BUY A 400 SPINE POWERFLIGHT OR AFTERMATH BARE SHAFT IN BRISBANE

#2 Post by little arrows » Sat Apr 11, 2020 8:13 pm

G'day David,

When you say fishtailing, you mean side to side I'm guessing - what spine are you currently trying, now you're looking at .400 (65#), which I suppose isn't too overspine depending on the bow type. Have you tried playing with the brace height, and also if the nocks are too tight on the string this may cause a mild "fishtailing".
Is the "fishtailing" bad, as in off course, - and could you perhaps describe how the arrow lands into the butt, which way is the nock facing in reference to the point, is a better guide to help the correct spine.

cheers
sue

aero170

#3 Post by aero170 » Sat Apr 11, 2020 9:01 pm