New bow wanted

General discussions. Politics, scuttlebutt, whatever: you're getting married, changing jobs, got a gripe or a compliment, dying to get out with the bow etc.....

Moderator: Moderators

Ants Carnage

New bow wanted

#1 Post by Ants Carnage » Sun Jul 15, 2018 8:05 pm

Hey all

Im new to the trad bow scene

So I have been shooting Compounds on and off for over 20 years , seen these at many comps I use to shoot ( NAFA )

Now Wheres the best place buy a Good high end bow that will last me and would be ok for hunting as well ?

Not sure what my draw length would be,currently is 29 on my compound and also what poundage should I get currently 60lb

Appreciate any feed back

Thanks Ant :D

greybeard
Supporter
Supporter

Re: New bow wanted

#2 Post by greybeard » Mon Jul 16, 2018 4:42 pm

Hi Ant,
Ants Carnage wrote: Sun Jul 15, 2018 8:05 pm .......So I have been shooting Compounds on and off for over 20 years , seen these at many comps I use to shoot ( NAFA ).......
Where are you located?

I have been a member of NAFA for over 40 years and shoot longbow / recurve Wednesday mornings.

Daryl.
"And you must not stick for a groat or twelvepence more than another man would give, if it be a good bow.
For a good bow twice paid for, is better than an ill bow once broken.
[Ascham]

“If a cluttered desk is a sign of a cluttered mind, of what, then, is an empty desk a sign?” [Einstein]

I am old enough to make my own decisions....Just not young enough to remember what I decided!....

Kendaric

#3 Post by Kendaric » Tue Jul 24, 2018 9:51 am

Ants Carnage wrote: Sun Jul 15, 2018 8:05 pm Not sure what my draw length would be,currently is 29 on my compound and also what poundage should I get currently 60lb
70% of compound shooters overdraw their bows, particularly if they are not target archery trained. Likely hood that your correct draw is 1/2" to 1" shorter than current (or possibly even more).