Is it time to move on from Facebook??

General discussions. Politics, scuttlebutt, whatever: you're getting married, changing jobs, got a gripe or a compliment, dying to get out with the bow etc.....

Moderator: Moderators

temudjin

Is it time to move on from Facebook??

#1 Post by temudjin » Wed Mar 28, 2018 9:41 am

Given the recent news of Facebook selling their user data without permission as well as scraping phone and text data from Android phones, again without permission, is it time we all reconsidered our use of Facebook as a replacement for OzBow?

I joined OzBow some years ago as a way of connecting with the trad community and staying up to date on shoot information. Then as the TAA Facebook page became more popular I "got" Facebook to stay up to date. And as a result I use OzBow less and less. It seems to me that based on the number of posts and comments on OzBow that perhaps I am not the only one?

I am no tech expert, but it seems to me that OzBow has never been guilty of the sort of behaviour we see from Facebook regularly. . .

* Pushing advertising for all sorts of unwanted stuff.

* Selling their members data without user permission.

* Scraping and using call and text message data from their users phones or computers.

So. . . why have we deserted our trad home online, owned by trad archers, run by and for trad archers and moved to Facebook which clearly places our privacy at risk by selling user data to governments and companies who only want to manipulate us?

I'd really like to see the trad family discuss this openly and respectfully.

Are there good reasons to use Facebook instead of OzBow?

Or should we all revert to our original home of trad archery online before our data is sold to be used by third parties without our permission by Facebook?

greybeard
Supporter
Supporter

Re: Is it time to move on from Facebook??

#2 Post by greybeard » Wed Mar 28, 2018 11:43 am

I wouldn't touch Facebook or similar sites with a forty foot barge pole.