G'day from a newbie

General discussions. Politics, scuttlebutt, whatever: you're getting married, changing jobs, got a gripe or a compliment, dying to get out with the bow etc.....

Moderator: Moderators

Forester

G'day from a newbie

#1 Post by Forester » Wed Mar 16, 2016 12:43 pm

Hi guys - just joined the site and thought I would say g’day and introduce myself.

I am pretty new to archery and love it all - actually shooting a bow and making my own gear. After reading the TBB books and finding some of the American forums like paleoplanet, it is great to find a like-minded group of people in Australia with local experience. I have already learned a lot from just reading through the posts and looking at the photos. My main interest is self bows and I have had a crack at making a couple - one out of an Ash sapling in Germany a few years ago and now I have nearly finished another sapling bow from Broad-leaved Privet. We have lots of it on our place in Brisbane and it grows really straight, so hopefully I can make a decent bow out of it. In the meantime I am shooting a Samick fibreglass recurve, but want to start using my own bows soon. I would love to eventually go hunting with my own gear, but my groups need to get a lot tighter and more consistent before then :smile:. I have also just finished my first quiver out of an old leather bag and I have some bamboo drying to see if they will make ok arrows one day …. So many things to do and so little time… especially with three young kids around!
Cheers,
Tim

greybeard
Supporter
Supporter

Re: G'day from a newbie

#2 Post by greybeard » Wed Mar 16, 2016 2:12 pm

Hi Tim,

Welcome to Ozbow.

Hopefully you will find some useful information when browsing the various topics.

Daryl.
"And you must not stick for a groat or twelvepence more than another man would give, if it be a good bow.
For a good bow twice paid for, is better than an ill bow once broken.
[Ascham]