Bow hunting BS

General discussions. Politics, scuttlebutt, whatever: you're getting married, changing jobs, got a gripe or a compliment, dying to get out with the bow etc.....

Moderator: Moderators

Brigsy

Bow hunting BS

#1 Post by Brigsy » Sun Nov 13, 2011 9:08 am

Morning all.
Now im a pretty easy going sort, and have always done the right thing when it comes to the properties i hunt and by the peoples land i hunt and friends i hunt with. Was told by the father inlaw when i first started out that it takes 10 years to get a good name for yourself but do anything wrong and it will beat you off the block.
Now the main block i have been hunting for 5 years now is split into 2 and there is a rifle hunter that hunts one part and i hunt the other. I rang the owner thurs night to let him know that i was heading down and he tells me that this guy has trapped and shot 15 pigs off my side in the last 2 weeks ( he is now paying the owner) So now the good boars i have been watching mature are laying in a heap rotting in the paddock.
Then another mate was going to take me out to shoot a meat deer but was told by some so called mates that i would sneak in behind him and poach it.( just so he would take them instead)
So years of always doing the right thing has got me nowhere as it only takes a few words or dollars to wreck everything.
Just really makes you wonder why we bother sometimes.
My early morning whinge
chris

blu-dog

Re: Bow hunting BS

#2 Post by blu-dog » Sun Nov 13, 2011 9:28 am

Fair enough to have a whinge too Brigsy! ...hunting properties are hard enough to come by these days without the lack of ethics and plain decency that too many "grubs" display in order to benefit themselves!

I know the time and effort that you have put into your main hunting block...with the early morning scouting trips and numerous close encounters!!! ...so I understand the frustration you must be feeling.