Is this possible???

Blades. Knife-making, Flintknapping, sharpening broadheads, etc. A showcase for the talents of Cutlery and Artillery Artisans, and a place to sell and source wares, as well as materials, vendors etc.

Moderator: Moderators

littlejohn

Is this possible???

#1 Post by littlejohn » Thu Sep 02, 2010 2:05 pm

I have an old sheffield file and in a moment of light headedness I thought I would have a go at trying to get a knife out of it. I have no experience in knifemaking but I figure I have nothing to lose.
Forges etc...are out of the question.
What tools would I use to get a shape off the blade from the file.
I was just thinking cut and shape with 4" grinder.
I also have a bench grinder ryobi 1/3 horse power....
I know this probably sounds stupid but if I dont ask.......
I was thinking of gluing timber offcuts onto back end then drilling . I don't know where you get the rivets etc...from. I guess you could just bang some old copper nails thru the holes and cut them off????
Like I said....
Is this possible???
Pete

woodie

Re: Is this possible???

#2 Post by woodie » Thu Sep 02, 2010 5:11 pm

If you are going to use a grinder do not get it to hot as you will take the hardness away from the file.
If you can get an even heat on it and get it to cherry red and then let it cool VERY slowly you should be able to work it with a file, cut it with a hacksaw and drill it with a slow drill. When that all done heat it the same way to red and quench in water, polish the cutting edge heat the back and quench when the straw colour gets to the cutting edge.
This how I have done knives and cold chisels.
Here is a viking stile knife that I made in this way. It might not bet the right way but I'm still learning.
woodie
Attachments
the blade that was a file.
the blade that was a file.
viking knife 1.jpg (23.59 KiB) Viewed 3367 times
viking knife 2.jpg
viking knife 2.jpg (23.81 KiB) Viewed 3367 times
may your arrows fly straight and true and your limbs return.

bigbob